19 min readYes, many farmers report that DAP is hard to find in the rabi 2026-27 sowing rush, and the government says national stock is more than demand. Both can be true at once, because stock is national while a farmer needs it at a nearby shop on the sowing day. The official price is Rs 1,350 for a 50 kg bag of DAP. Rajasthan's minister said on 10 Oct 2026 that state stock would last about 18 days for DAP and 35 days for urea. Buy only against a PoS bill at MRP, and report overcharging or forced add-ons to the district agriculture office or the Kisan Call Centre (1800-180-1551).
Is there a DAP and urea shortage in India right now?
There are shortages at many shops and no national stock-out, according to the official numbers. Farmers and the government are describing two different things: one is a national total, the other is the shelf at the local society or dealer. The table sets the two side by side. Each line carries its date.
| Where | What farmers or opposition say | What the government or officials say |
|---|---|---|
| Rajasthan (Oct 2026) | Shortage complaints from several districts since September. DAP bag said to sell for Rs 2,100 to 2,200 (Ashok Gehlot, 9 Oct 2026, news report). Nano DAP said to be pushed along with DAP. | Minister Kirodi Lal Meena (10 Oct 2026): DAP stock 1,05,584 t, urea 3,63,969 t, about 18 days of DAP and 35 days of urea, 14 rakes of about 35,000 t DAP in transit. Government says it is not forcing nano products. |
| Kota, Rajasthan (10 Oct 2026, ETV Bharat) | DAP not at all shops. Farmers travel far and some sell paddy or soybean to pay for fertiliser. | Kota officials: sales checked against land records and Aadhaar OTP, a control room is running, and border checkposts watch for smuggling. |
| Uttar Pradesh (18 Oct 2026) | Phulpur, Prayagraj: IFFCO centre had no DAP for about 1.5 months; potato sowing stalled; farmers visit for days (Amar Ujala). | The same report quotes the cooperative officer: DAP of other brands is at several societies, but farmers prefer IFFCO. In Jalaun, a 4,077 t DAP rake arrived the same day and is sold at Rs 1,350 through PoS. |
| National (25 Jul 2026, Rural Voice) | Farmers in UP and other states reported urea and DAP shortages in kharif 2026. | Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers: availability is more than state-wise demand; national stock 139.34 lakh tonnes on 21 Jul 2026. |
| National (29 Sep 2026) | No farmer statement in the report. | Agriculture Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan: stock above 163 lakh tonnes of fertiliser; states projected about 380 lakh tonnes of need for rabi. |
Where they conflict: farmers say they cannot buy; the Centre says there is enough. The reports do not settle who is right in every district. What the numbers do show is that stock exists nationally, and that arrival of rakes, allotments by district and brand preference decide what a farmer finds. This is also a repeat pattern. Last year, on 28 Oct 2025, National Herald reported queues in Punjab, a scuffle at a procurement centre in Hanumangarh and a portal registration step in Haryana, with the black-market price at up to Rs 2,000.
What do the official stock and supply figures say?
The latest official season data shows availability well above assessed demand for both fertilisers, but real use has also been running above the demand estimate. Availability counts opening stock plus receipts, so it is a national total and does not show what is sitting in a given district.
| Season (lakh tonnes) | Urea: demand / available / used | DAP: demand / available / used |
|---|---|---|
| Kharif 2025 | 185.39 / 230.51 / 193.21 | 56.99 / 66.38 / 46.33 |
| Rabi 2025-26 | 196.06 / 257.59 / 203.39 | 53.43 / 75.41 / 54.47 |
| Kharif 2026 (till 14 Jul 2026) | 102.68 / 157.98 / 88.04 | 29.64 / 37.75 / 21.39 |
Source: annexure to Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question 200, answered 21 Jul 2026 (PDF text read in full). In rabi 2025-26, urea use was 3.7% above the demand estimate and DAP use 1.9% above (my calculation). So a season with large "availability" still ended with use above the plan. A further national cut, from Rural Voice (figures to 21 Jul 2026): stock of 68.79 lakh tonnes urea and 16.77 lakh tonnes DAP; sales since 1 April of 97.98 lakh tonnes urea and 23.52 lakh tonnes DAP. Uttar Pradesh then showed urea sales of 17.36 and stock of 16.30, and DAP sales of 3.45 and stock of 5.17 (lakh tonnes), per the same report (Rural Voice).
For rabi 2026-27, the picture is thinner. On 29 Sep 2026 the Agriculture Ministry's assessment put states' combined need at about 380 lakh tonnes of all fertilisers, and Chouhan said stock was above 163 lakh tonnes (Dainik Jagran English). That statement did not split urea and DAP. I found no national urea or DAP stock figure for rabi 2026-27, so the gap is stated here rather than filled. Punjab separately asked the Centre on 29 Sep 2026 for 5.5 lakh tonnes of DAP and 15 lakh tonnes of urea (UNI).
Will DAP last 18 days and urea 35 days in Rajasthan?
The claim is real but it is the state government's own estimate. It was reported by PTI on 10 Oct 2026: the agriculture minister said Rajasthan had 1,05,584 tonnes of DAP and 3,63,969 tonnes of urea, enough for about 18 days and 35 days at current weekly consumption (Outlook Business).
| Point | Figure | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Rajasthan DAP stock | 1,05,584 t | Minister, PTI, 10 Oct 2026 |
| Rajasthan urea stock | 3,63,969 t | Minister, PTI, 10 Oct 2026 |
| Cover claimed | About 18 days DAP, 35 days urea | Same |
| DAP rakes in transit | 14 rakes, about 35,000 t, expected by 14 Oct | Same |
| Later stock report (19 Oct) | Urea 3.73 lakh t, DAP 1.04 lakh t, NPK 95,000 t, SSP 2.09 lakh t; no as-of date | Kisan India, 19 Oct 2026 |
| October allotment vs supply | DAP 2,00,000 t allotted, 33,000 t supplied in first 7 days (about 16.5%); urea 4,60,000 t allotted, 61,000 t supplied | ETV Bharat, 10 Oct 2026 |
| Kharif 2026 (Rajasthan) | DAP 5,44,995 t supplied vs 5.10 lakh t demand; urea 17,15,814 t vs 11 lakh t | Minister, PTI, 10 Oct 2026 |
What this means: 18 days from 10 Oct runs to roughly 28 Oct, and the stock is meant to be topped up by rakes. My calculation: 1,05,584 t over 18 days is about 5,900 t of DAP a day. Wheat sowing peaks in November, so daily use can rise. If rakes keep arriving, the cover grows; if they slip, it shrinks. The two October stock reports above hardly differ, and neither gives an as-of date. Rajasthan also showed supply above demand in kharif 2026, so the October squeeze is a timing problem in the first weeks of rabi, not proof of a season-long gap. The 18-day and 35-day figures are not an official national number and I found no independent check of them.
Why is there a shortage of DAP in India?
India imports a large share of its DAP or the raw material for it, so any break in imports shows up quickly at shops. The reasons reported in 2025 and 2026 are below, with what each source actually says.
- China curbs. Since April 2025, Chinese authorities have withheld inspection clearances for DAP and specialty fertiliser exports to India while exporting to others, per a CareEdge report carried by ANI (29 Jul 2025). National Herald (28 Oct 2025) reported China's DAP supply to India falling from 2.228 million tonnes in 2023-24 to 0.847 million tonnes in 2024-25.
- Smaller local output. The same National Herald report gave domestic DAP production as 4.293 million tonnes in 2023-24 and 3.769 million tonnes in 2024-25. Raw material costs matter here. An Indian Express explainer (4 Aug 2026, read as a summary) said sulphur had moved from $150 to 250 a tonne to about $1,100, and phosphoric acid from $1,055 a tonne in Jan to Mar 2025 to $1,700 in Jul to Sep 2026.
- New sources take time. India turned to Saudi Arabia, Morocco, Jordan, Russia, Oman and Israel. A five-year Saudi deal was reported at 3.1 million tonnes of DAP a year, about 30% of need (ANI, 29 Jul 2025). Reports say these sources do not match China's scale or price.
- Different product, different effect. National Herald (28 Oct 2025) reported that some Russian imports came as MAP, which farmers said works less well than DAP. This is the report's claim and I did not find a trial on it.
- Sowing peak. Potato, mustard, chana and wheat all need a phosphate dose at sowing in the same few weeks. See the crop table below.
The government has said the extra import cost is not being passed to farmers. A special provision of Rs 3,500 per tonne ("other costs") sits on top of the NBS subsidy for domestic and imported DAP in kharif 2026 (IANS, 7 Aug 2026). For the wider supply picture, see our posts on which countries control phosphate and potash supply and the top fertiliser importing countries.
Why is there a shortage of urea in India?
Urea is mostly made at home from natural gas, so the 2026 problem started with gas, not with farmers. After the Strait of Hormuz closed on 28 Feb 2026, LNG supply fell and several plants cut output or brought maintenance forward.
- Outlook Business (11 Mar 2026): gas reaching the fertiliser industry was only around 70% of what it needed; India is the world's largest urea importer; a shut plant can take up to a month to restart. The Centre ordered priority to household gas, CNG and LPG over other industrial users.
- Urea output fell to 17.5 lakh tonnes in March 2026 from 24.7 lakh tonnes in March 2025, then recovered. April to June 2026 output was 71.5 lakh tonnes, 5.4% higher than the same months of 2025 (Indian Express, 4 Aug 2026, summary read).
- Imports filled the gap: 25 lakh tonnes under global tenders in April 2026 and 17.7 lakh tonnes in June (Rural Voice, 25 Jul 2026).
- Urea production was 293.30 lakh tonnes in 2025-26 against a record 314.07 lakh tonnes in 2023-24 (Department of Fertilisers, as quoted by Rural Voice).
So urea supply was hit in spring and mostly recovered by summer. For rabi the complaints in UP and Rajasthan are about delivery timing and local stock more than about a national shortfall, based on the numbers above. Where does India buy urea from? The sources I opened name the tenders and the volumes but not the supplier countries, so I do not list them.
Is hoarding and black marketing making the shortage worse?
Both the government and farmers' groups describe behaviour that deepens a tight patch, but they point at different people. The state says rumours push farmers to stockpile, and farmers say dealers hold stock back to sell at a higher price. The reports I read give examples of each.
- Panic and repeat trips. Rajasthan's minister urged farmers not to stockpile on rumours (9 Oct 2026). A Bharatiya Kisan Sangh office-bearer in Kota said small farmers want the whole season's fertiliser in one trip because each trip costs rent and fuel (ETV Bharat, 10 Oct 2026). Both are reasons demand bunches up in a few days.
- Allegations of selling above MRP. Gehlot said a Rs 1,350 bag sells for Rs 2,100 to 2,200, about 1.6 times the price (my calculation). That is a claim in a news report. I found no price survey that confirms it.
- Smuggling across state borders. Kota officials said checkposts on the Madhya Pradesh border are meant to stop Rajasthan's allotment from leaving the state.
- Uneven brand supply. At Phulpur, DAP of two other brands was at several societies while farmers waited for IFFCO. The Fertiliser (Control) Order sets one minimum standard for DAP (18-46-0: at least 18% nitrogen and 46% phosphate), so a brand with the same grade and a proper bill is the same product in law.
What is the DAP price per bag in 2026, and what is the urea price?
DAP is sold at Rs 1,350 for a 50 kg bag, and urea at Rs 242 for a 45 kg bag before neem coating and taxes. These are government-fixed maximum prices. The Rs 1,350 figure is confirmed for 2026.
| Item | Price | Source and date | Per kg (my calculation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| DAP, 50 kg bag | Rs 1,350 | IANS, 7 Aug 2026; Jalaun notice, 18 Oct 2026 | Rs 27 |
| Urea, 45 kg bag | Rs 242 excluding neem coating and taxes | IANS, 7 Aug 2026 | Rs 5.38 |
| Urea at a UP cooperative | Rs 266.50 a bag (bag weight not stated in the report) | Amar Ujala, Jalaun, 18 Oct 2026 | Rs 5.92 if 45 kg |
| DAP special provision | Rs 3,500 per tonne "other costs" over NBS in kharif 2026 | IANS, 7 Aug 2026 | Not applicable |
The Rs 242 and Rs 266.50 are probably the same price, with and without neem coating and taxes. That is my reading, not a stated fact, so ask the dealer to show the PoS bill. About rabi 2026-27 "new rates": I found no cabinet announcement of NBS subsidy rates for rabi 2026-27 as of 19 Oct 2026, and I found no notice changing the Rs 1,350 price. Last year's rabi rates were announced in late October, so a decision may still come. Check the Department of Fertilizers site before you quote any subsidy figure. The Rs 1,350 is "capped" in the sense that the company cannot charge more at the shop, with the Centre paying the rest as subsidy.
Can a dealer force you to buy nano urea or other products with DAP?
No. The Fertiliser (Control) Order bars selling above the fixed maximum price and the March 2026 amendment puts the duty on manufacturers not to force nano products on buyers, though reports differ on how it works on the ground. Farmers still report add-ons.
- Clause 3 of the Fertiliser (Control) Order says no dealer shall sell a fertiliser above the maximum price fixed under it (FCO 1985 text).
- Business Today (April 2026) reports a 13 Mar 2026 amendment: the manufacturer must ensure no forced sale of nano fertilisers by tagging them with other fertilisers or agri-inputs. The same article describes the amendment more broadly than the clause reads, so read the notification itself.
- Madhya Pradesh issued an order on 25 May 2026 banning tagging of non-subsidised products with subsidised fertiliser and gave toll-free 155253 for complaints (Global Agriculture report). For other states, check the state agriculture department order.
- Examples of complaints: Karnal farmers said add-ons raised cost by Rs 200 to 400 a bag (Tribune, 1 Jul 2025). In Rajasthan, Gehlot said some farmers were pressed to take Nano DAP with DAP (9 Oct 2026), and the government says it is not forcing nano sales (ETV Bharat, 10 Oct 2026). That is a direct conflict, and I found no inspection report that settles it.
What does the evidence say about nano urea and nano DAP?
The evidence is split. A Punjab Agricultural University trial, IFFCO-sponsored and published in December 2024, ran two seasons (2020-21 and 2021-22) using IFFCO's protocol of half conventional urea plus nano urea sprays. Against full urea, grain yield fell 13% in rice and 17.2% in wheat, and grain protein fell 35% in rice and 24% in wheat. IFFCO's own trials reported yield gains of 3 to 8%, and its executive said nutrient use efficiency is 85 to 90% against 25% for conventional urea, but gave no comparison data when asked. A 2023 University of Copenhagen study concluded nano urea had no scientifically proven effects (Business Today, April 2026). Nano DAP has less published independent data. It is safest to treat nano products as an optional extra that you can decline, not as a replacement for DAP.
What action has the government taken against black marketing?
The numbers are large, but they are counts of checks and notices, not a measure of how much black marketing is left. The table keeps each count tied to its date and who gave it.
| Level and period | Raids, notices, licences, FIRs | Source |
|---|---|---|
| India, since April 2025 (reported 1 Apr 2026) | Over 4.66 lakh raids; over 16,000 show-cause notices; 6,802 licences cancelled or suspended; 821 FIRs | Lok Sabha written reply by MoS Anupriya Patel, via Indian Cooperative |
| India, 7 months to Dec 2025 | 12,814 show-cause notices; black marketing: over 5,000 notices and over 3,000 licences cancelled; hoarding: 687 notices and 202 licences cancelled | Reported by All India Radio, 9 Dec 2025 |
| Rajasthan, Oct 2026 | 64 sellers barred from sales; 128 firm licences suspended or cancelled; 25 FIRs; 11 arrests | State agriculture minister, via ETV Bharat, 10 Oct 2026 |
| Rajasthan, 19 Oct 2026 | 744 fertiliser inspectors deployed to watch distribution | Kisan India |
The raids, notices and FIRs cover many kinds of violation: black marketing, hoarding, tagging and sub-standard product. The two national rows overlap in time, so do not add them. Under the Fertiliser (Control) Order an inspector can enter and inspect premises, seize fertiliser and seize books of accounts (clause 28). Punishment comes through the Essential Commodities Act, section 7. The sources I found disagree on the minimum jail term, so I do not quote one; ask a lawyer.
What can a farmer do if a dealer overcharges or refuses a bill?
Pay only the fixed price and ask for the PoS bill. If the dealer refuses, write down the details and complain to the district agriculture office or the Kisan Call Centre. Each step below is lawful and costs nothing.
- Know the price before you go. DAP is Rs 1,350 per 50 kg bag; urea is Rs 242 per 45 kg bag before neem coating and taxes, or about Rs 266.50 as seen on one UP notice.
- Carry the papers. The Jalaun notice (18 Oct 2026) asks for Aadhaar, khatauni (land record) and farmer ID. Sales run through a PoS machine.
- Ask for the bill. Clause 5 of the Order says every dealer shall issue a cash or credit memorandum in Form M. Check that the PoS bill shows the product, bags and price.
- Look at the shop board. Clause 4 requires a dealer to display opening stock for each fertiliser and the price list. If the board says stock is nil but the shop sells to others, note it.
- Record the facts. Shop name, date and time, product, price demanded, what else was pushed on you. A photo of the board or a bill is strong proof.
- Complain. Call the Kisan Call Centre toll-free line 1800-180-1551 (6 am to 10 pm; launched as a helpline for fake farm inputs, reported 25 Aug 2025; confirm it takes price complaints in your state). Give a written complaint to the District Agriculture Officer. Madhya Pradesh farmers can use 155253. District offices also publish local numbers; the Jalaun notice listed several.
Also, the PoS system limits quantity: a Lok Sabha reply of 7 Aug 2026 said purchases are capped at 50 bags per buyer per month, and that subsidy is released only after Aadhaar-enabled PoS authentication. Under Section 7 of the Aadhaar Act, alternatives exist for farmers who cannot authenticate. If your fingerprint fails, ask the dealer to use the alternative, do not accept a cash sale outside PoS.
Is DAP better than urea, and what can replace DAP?
They are not rivals. DAP gives phosphate with some nitrogen and is mainly a sowing-time input. Urea gives nitrogen and is used in splits. When DAP is short, the phosphate is replaced with SSP or an NPK complex, and nitrogen is topped up with urea.
| Product | Main nutrients (FCO standard) | Use as DAP substitute |
|---|---|---|
| DAP | 18% N, 46% P2O5 | Reference product |
| Urea | 46% N (45% if coated) | Not a phosphate source; used for top-dressing |
| SSP (16%) | 16% P2O5, at least 11% sulphur | Replaces the phosphate; needs about 2.9 bags for the P2O5 in one DAP bag (my calculation: 23 kg P2O5 divided by 0.16). Add about 20 kg urea for the nitrogen DAP would give |
| NPK complexes | Grade varies (check the bag) | Use only the grade your soil test and crop need; Kota officials named NPK with sulphur for mustard |
The PAU advice for medium-fertility wheat soil in Punjab matches the arithmetic: drill 55 kg DAP or 155 kg SSP per acre at sowing, and add 20 kg urea per acre if you use SSP (PAU farm operations for November). Kota officials also suggested mixing 3 bags of SSP with 1 bag of urea, and TSP at 1 bag with half a bag of urea; the same report says officials also said no substitute is being handed out, which is another conflict between statements. Our longer comparison of DAP alternative fertilisers like SSP, NPK 12:32:16 and Nano DAP gives the pros and cons of each.
Use less by using the soil test
Chouhan said on 29 Sep 2026 that a pilot in selected districts cut fertiliser use by 27%, saving over Rs 1,400 crore, and that the Khet Bachao Abhiyan will run from 22 Oct to 30 Nov to promote soil-based use. That 27% is a government pilot claim I could not check independently. For your own field, a soil test tells you whether you need the full phosphate dose. Our guide on how to read your soil health card shows how to turn the report into a fertiliser plan.
When does each rabi crop need DAP and urea?
The phosphate dose goes in at sowing and urea goes in later in splits, so the DAP squeeze hits first and the urea demand arrives with the first irrigation. The doses below are Punjab Agricultural University advice and one UP district notice, not a national rule. Match them to your soil test and your state package.
| Crop | At sowing | Later | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wheat (timely sown, irrigated) | 55 kg DAP per acre, or 155 kg SSP plus 20 kg urea; sow timely varieties by the 4th week of November | 40 kg urea per acre at first irrigation (leaf colour chart based) | PAU, November farm operations |
| Wheat (rainfed) | 35 kg urea, 100 kg SSP and 20 kg muriate of potash per acre | None stated | PAU |
| Chana (desi gram) | 13 kg urea and 50 kg SSP per acre; sow by 10 Nov with Rhizobium culture | None stated | PAU |
| Raya (mustard), rainfed | 35 kg urea and 50 kg SSP per acre at sowing | Early-sown raya: 45 kg urea with first irrigation | PAU |
| Potato | Phosphate at planting (no dose in this source) | 85 kg urea per acre at 40 to 45 days with earthing up (115 kg on light soils) | PAU |
| UP district guide (per hectare) | Wheat and barley: 3 bags DAP and 6 bags urea. Gram, pea, lentil: 3 bags DAP and 1 bag urea | Not stated | Jalaun notice via Amar Ujala, 18 Oct 2026 |
Note the pattern in the PAU figures: chana gets only a small urea dose and is sown with Rhizobium culture, and the SSP route also supplies sulphur (at least 11% in the FCO standard). Our crop posts give the full schedules: wheat sowing time, seed rate and basal dose by zone, the mustard sowing and fertiliser schedule and chana sowing and seed treatment. Potato sowing is already running in UP, so phosphate delay shows up there first (Amar Ujala, 18 Oct 2026).
What must fertiliser dealers do under the rules?
A dealer must sell only through the PoS system at or below the fixed price, issue a bill, and display stock and price. Doing these things protects the shop in a raid and keeps the supply from the company.
- Sell through the Aadhaar-enabled PoS device. Subsidy is released only after authenticated sales (Lok Sabha reply, 7 Aug 2026), and the cap is 50 bags per buyer per month.
- Never sell above the maximum price (FCO clause 3) and issue a Form M cash or credit memo for each sale (clause 5).
- Display opening stock and the price list in a prominent place every day (clause 4). Keep your books of accounts in order, because an inspector can seize them (clause 28).
- Do not tag non-subsidised products to fertiliser sales, and refuse a company that demands you take them as a condition of getting stock. The MP order of 25 May 2026 states the company side of this explicitly.
- Prepare for checks: Rajasthan alone has deployed 744 fertiliser inspectors, and an inspector can seize books of accounts.
For what else to hold this rabi, see our rabi stock list for dealers.
Conclusion
The shortage is real at many shops and the national stock claim is also on record. Both come from the same facts: a national total does not reach every village shop on sowing day. As of 19 Oct 2026, Rajasthan says its stock covers about 18 days of DAP and 35 days of urea, farmers in Prayagraj report no DAP for weeks, and the Centre says supply is above need. Do not pay more than Rs 1,350 for a bag of DAP, do not accept add-ons you did not ask for, and always take the PoS bill. Use the soil test to cut the dose, use SSP with some urea where DAP is not there, and sow on time. Dealers should keep the board, the bill and the PoS record clean. Check the dated figures in this post again before you rely on them, because the position can change within a week.
Why trust this guide
Written by Team Katyayani, Editorial Team at Katyayani Organics. Cross-checked against published research and university extension programs.



Leave a Comment